How to Create a Great Work Area for Inspiration

Today’s guest post and second installment in the “Where I Write” series is from Jennifer Novotney, the author of the YA book WINTER IN THE SOUL. She was born in Burbank, California and lived in Los Angeles for most of her life until settling in North Eastern Pennsylvania with her husband and daughter. She attended California State University, earning a bachelors degree in journalism, and Northern Arizona University, earning a masters degree in English. After college, she spent several years writing and teaching, including at Pennsylvania State University.

Website: www.jennifernovotney.com

Where is your favorite place to write?

My favorite place to write is at my dining room table. I have a corner sectioned off near the window where I keep my laptop, chair, and notebooks. Since I am a mom, it can be challenging to find a quiet space to write. This particular seat is facing away from the television and other distracting things in my home. There are windows to my left and directly in front of me. I normally always choose a spot near windows to write. There is something about looking out a window that sets my imagination on fire.

Jennifer-writingspace What’s special about this spot?

I’ve tried to write in several spaces in my home, but I’ve always come back to this one. It’s kind of a special place because, in addition to the window to my left and front, there is a skylight right above my head. I feel light shining on me from all directions. I love the bright light in this spot. It keeps me focused and positive when I’m writing. Also, when I am ruminating on an idea and pause, I can look out the window at the bountiful nature that living in the mountains of northeast Pennsylvania provides. It can be quite spectacular depending on the season. The fall is full of gorgeous colors and the winter holds it’s own beauty with the snow and leafless trees. I think this is partly what inspired such a heavy nature theme in my book, Winter in the Soul.

 

What projects are you working on at the moment?

I’ve written a lot this year, probably more than I ever have in my life. This was the year that I set out to get a novel published and I did just that. My newest project I’ve recently completed is another young adult novel. I have some ideas for an inspirational nonfiction piece that I’d like to start next month, but depending on what I publish next, that might have to wait. I’m constantly working on different projects and I often like to let a manuscript sit for a while after I’m done with it and go back to it a few months later. Since I’ve done so much writing this year, that’s kind of where I’m at right now. I’m looking at what I’ve written and beginning to write sequels. My next new fiction project will be the sequel to Winter in the Soul.

 

About WINTER IN THE SOUL:

In a world divided by power and greed, seventeen-year-old Lilika harbors an intense desire to return to Winter in the Soul, the place her family left to escape the darkness that was manifesting from a coldness of the soul.

When she meets Talon, their connection is evident right from the start, and together they travel through the Black Kingdom to recover Lilika’s stolen locket. And in search of an answer to the mystery behind Winter in the Soul.

Lilika holds the key to stopping the darkness from spreading. The fate of their world lies in her hands. Will she stop the Black Kingdom before its darkness overtakes them all, or will they succumb to the darkness that is spreading across the land?

Release Date: Available now!

 

Add to Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20869515-winter-in-the-soul

Purchase your copy at Amazon: http://amzn.com/B00LT8DMV6

