Who got this blog post hopping?

 

It’s the fabulous Keely Brooke Keith! Keely was the perfect person to nominate me for this blog hop, because Keely was also a frequent childhood mover like I was (a fact that inspired me to write LIBERTY BELLE–and no doubt inspires her writing as well).

Now….on to those four big questions!

 

1) What am I working on?

Right now I’m finishing up my last round of edits for LIBERTY BELLE (which comes out with Anaiah Press in August 2014). I’m also polishing a women’s fiction manuscript that’s been evolving over the past few years. I also have a manuscript “baby” centered around cheese (yup–cheese!). I’m also trying to work on my blog and continue to connect with other writers on Twitter. Twitter has been amazing to help me crawl out of my writing hole and meet a community of fabulous and super-talented writers!

2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?

There are so many talented middle grade authors out there leading the way. I love authors like Wendy Mass and Lauren Myracle. I hope that my book might help to expand the children’s middle grade market–more specifically, fiction with elements of faith.

3) Why do I write what I do?

I’ve always loved middle grade. When I was in elementary school in the late 1980s, the Babysitters Club series was the best thing in the world (that, and slap bracelets). I loved how much fun Ann M. Martin had developing her characters and seeing them grow through unique storylines. I assumed (as children do) that when I grew up I’d easily do the same thing that Ann M. Martin does. I still want that–but now I realize what a challenging battle it is to follow your dreams. Anyway, I write middle grade that is mostly oriented toward girls because I want them to have a fun read that’s adventurous but also an escape from the drama that most girls 8 to 12 deal with on a daily basis!

4) How does my writing process work?

It’s changed a lot in the past few years! Before becoming a mom, my husband and I would lounge away our weekends sipping coffee and typing away on our laptops. Now, writing requires a lot of discipline within certain time constraints. I write mostly at night after my twins have gone to bed–and also during naptime on weekends. The funny thing is, I’ve been motivated to write so much more since I’ve become a mom. Coffee is a must! There is always coffee. I usually begin with a few rough ideas or outlines in my head and then build from there. Some days I dive right in, but on others I am very easily distracted on Twitter. I like socializing with other distracted writers on Twitter. ;)

Next up? It’s…..

 

Courtney Rice Gager:  June 9Image

Courtney first fell in love with reading as a child on summer vacations by the ocean. Today, she enjoys writing her own humorous and heartwarming stories that are best paired with plenty of sand and sunshine. Courtney is the author of The Buggy List. Her upcoming title, Tess in Boots, is contracted with Anaiah Press for release in January 2015. She lives in Southern New Jersey with her husband and daughter.

 

 

 

Plus…1 other surprise guest!

Image

 

Want to see more? Check out the #MyWritingProcess hashtag on Twitter to read about other writers!

