B

The letter “B”: BABYSITTERS CLUB SERIES

I would be an absolute traitor to my generation if I didn’t mention what is arguably the best series for those straddling the lines between Gen X and Gen Y: The Babysitters Club series by Ann M. Martin. It’s hard to find a thirty something who didn’t have at least SOME kind of connection with Kristy, Stacey, Dawn, Claudia, or any of the junior sitters. And how could we not help but cheer on the sweet budding romance of Logan and Stacey?

No matter which Babysitters Club (BSC) sitter you identified with, you were bound to learn about some very well-rounded characters. Stacey was a well-dressed fashionista, but she struggled daily to control her diabetes. Kristy was an emerging leader and businesswoman, but she struggled to navigate her siblings through divorce. Best of all, these ladies had an excellent entrepreneurial spirit–successfully starting up and running a babysitting business that was reliable and friendly. Do I dare say that Ann M. Martin inspired a generation of women to go after their dreams? She inspired me, but in a different way–after years of loving her books, I absolutely knew that I wanted to grow up and write middle grade one day. And then–I did!

CLAUDIA AND THE PHANTOM PHONE CALLS was my favorite.
CLAUDIA AND THE PHANTOM PHONE CALLS was my favorite.

And can I say how ecstatic I was every time a SUPER SPECIAL came out? Now THAT made my week each and every time. The only downfall is how irritated my parents were after I began devouring the moment it was purchased, and I had practically finished the book by the time we were home from the bookstore. ;)

